I need some critique

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 Kira22

Kira22

• Designer
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 09:20 AM

So... here it goes, these are my two works that I consider really good and that's why I need critique. Because they not might be that good as I expect them to be..

This first is made from vectors, created mainly in Photoshop (since I couldn't work very well with Illustrator in that time) and then I put all the layers into Illustrator and finished it.
It was my first try, I've never done vector pictures before.

#2 Kira22

Kira22

• Designer
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 09:25 AM

Here is the second one, this is drawn in PS, only one layer and I was using brush and eraser. Mostly the brush. I like the brush effect on my pictures, I don't like them to be too realistic/smooth. But sometimes even smooth is good.

#3 smyth

smyth

• Designer
  • 62 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 01:51 PM

What's there to be critiqued? :) (way out of my league), i LOVE the 2nd one, nice portrait. Who is it? you?
I read on other topic you wrote, that you want someone with experience to critique your desingns, sorry that i can help with that. I can though make some points why i like the 2nd design:
1. Because it looks like painted with real oil paint and brush
2. The lack of colours, the black background and the fading of the hair and shoulders in to the bckrnd gives a mistery aura to the design
3. The level of detail is very nice, also i like the way the hair looks like hair, and the mustache looks like mustache
4. I like how the light from behind the face "warms up" a little the portrait
5. The proportion seem good, and i like that the shaddowing looks natural/correct
6. It reminds me of Johnny Depp

Well ... that's my best, maybe someone else can help you better

Edited by smyth, 08 October 2010 - 02:30 PM.

#4 Kira22

Kira22

• Designer
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 02:56 PM