internship

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 janedepgen

janedepgen

• Designer
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 12:36 AM

Hey guys! I'm currently a graphic design student so as someone who's always on the hunt for internship opportunities I wanted to ask for some advice from such a thriving design community! If any of you were hiring (or are hiring) graphic design interns, what is something that you think would their resume or portfolio stick out from the rest of the competition?

Can't wait to hear what you guys think!

#2 HappyGD

HappyGD

• Designer
  • 2731 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 05:52 AM

Hello :)

Good question! Lots of text but here are a couple suggestions based on my experiences:

• For your portfolio (at least the online portion), it's a really good idea if you can somehow include some process work that coincides with your finished designs. Prominent design firms will view your process just as highly — if not more — than your completed design. It could be anything: scribbles/sketches, word webs, thumbnails/wireframes, written sentences that discuss your audience and goals, rough layouts and ideas, typography exploration, etc.; take photos or scan these and make them presentable. You can either show them along with your finished work (on the same webpage) or I've also seen others post a link to an external blog e.g. Wordpress or Tumblr that contains all their rough work.

TL;DR (please read anyways ;)) Design firms not only look for talent, but they also look to see how you think. Design process is just as important as the finished product.