• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 ro|jo

ro|jo

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 December 2006 - 10:15 PM

I'm using Corel Draw since the first time I work on design/layout projects. But most of others designer i know are using Illustrator! What do you think what are the advantages of both. Please share your experience - maybe someone knows both programs.
Thx for your comments :)

#2 champ

champ

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 12 posts

Posted 25 December 2006 - 06:07 AM

Well! as a begginer you can start with any program in the Market, that has vector drawing tools. Corel Draw is My Personal Favourite when it comes to Logos and simple layouts.

:)

thanks.

de-sign.

#3 lilypad

lilypad

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 14 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 05:49 AM

I have limited first hand experience with Corel Draw, so my opinion may be somewhat bias, but ...

A buddy of mine was using it extensively back in the mid 90's and what really turned me off was:

A) the complicated user interface
B) non-existent color calibration leading to very inconsistent color output
C) lack of compatibility with postscript and standard print requirements

That said, I think that Corel has made some major steps toward making their software a professional design tool. That based on some more recent artwork from Corel Draw that I have seen from others. My own first hand experience with Draw ended back in version 8.

I started with Aldus and Adobe products, and have been very pleased with the results that I have achieved from them over the years.

- jon

#4 Clean-Style

Clean-Style

Banned

• Banned
  • 21 posts

Posted 31 December 2006 - 11:38 AM

The choice between Illustrator and Corel Draw is mostly about personal preference and what the user has been accustomed to over the years. Consequently, any opinion will contain a degree of bias. And so if you are a new to the game, your best bet would be to try them both.