Need help with some business card designs

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 coreo881

coreo881

• Designer
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 January 2017 - 01:21 AM

Hey people.  I'm an amateur graphic designer and I'm making some business cards for friends.  I made and ordered a batch but when they came in, the pattern was way too subtle to be visible underneath the primary dark color I used.  So now I've re-done the design and I just want to double/triple check that the design will come out okay.  I'm attaching the redesign and the original for comparison.  Please and thank you everyone.

Original:

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

Redesign:

Something interesting I just noticed as I was uploading the Redesign to drive; the blue became much, MUCH bluer.  Here's a screenshot.  The image on the left is what I'm seeing from Win10's photo viewer.  Can anyone fill me in on why this happens?

Screenshot:

• lalelemu likes this

#2 HerbertNordal

HerbertNordal

Junior Guru

• Designer
  • 3433 posts

Posted 31 January 2017 - 05:37 AM

What program are you working in?

What color mode are you working in? (rgb, srgb, cmyk)

What color mode are you exporting to? (try SWOP).

If you do not know what I am taking about, do a google search.

For print purposes, you need to be working in CMYK.

Your saved (exported) file needs to be in the correct color space.

You might want to check with the business card printer (4Over, Vista Print) to get the exact color profile you need.

Also, you will need to provide vector art for sharp art edges.

If you are working in a paint program for web, you may also have some resolution problems.

Once again, check with your print vender. They may have seen your problem and have a fix.

Good Luck.

• weiesnbach and lalelemu like this

#3 weiesnbach

weiesnbach

• Designer
  • 485 posts

Posted 31 January 2017 - 05:53 AM