&nsbp;

#1 srikanth

srikanth

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 12 posts

Posted 07 March 2010 - 01:47 PM

Hi friends,
It gives me immense pleasure to post my first ever logo :) I didnt know anything about design using software and it took me a mth to learn the basics of adobe illustrator cs4 and this is it...the moment i was waiting for ...Please find below the link. Your views and suggestions are highly welcomed.

http://lethargicexpr...03/egg-logo.pdf

Thanks
Srikanth

#2 xpressions

xpressions

• Designer
  • 95 posts

Posted 09 March 2010 - 01:07 PM

Hi, Srikanth. Isn't it great to pick up illustrator and be slapped in the face with all those buttons and gizmos and try to figure the whole thing out? It can truly be a daunting task. I have been using it for 5 years now and I am amazed at the power of the application...I learn something new almost every day, sometimes by accident....but I also surf for tutorials that will teach me a few tricks and tips, veerle comes to mind: Veerle's blog 2.0 - Archive summary .

Learning that pen tool has been tricky...still am trying to figure it out. :confused: Still learning to use the correct brush (and create my own) and playing with different widths for outlines and highlights.....

Another area which I believe is crucial is typography. Still learning alot about this as well. I think it can make or break a design. In my opinion, it's not only an art, but a talent in selecting the right typeface and even moreso when you alter them. Take a look at i love typography for some interesting fonts/typefaces and articles: fonts, typefaces and all things typographical ? I love Typography (ILT) And learn to kern....some free fonts have terrible kerning and cheapen the design. Autokerning is good sometimes, but you may need to manually kern to get it right.