Whats your education?

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#81 notsu100

notsu100

• Designer
  • 61 posts

Posted 09 April 2013 - 01:54 PM

Quite interesting to see that many of us are not actually studied graphic design. Actually I am also one of those. At the moment I'm studying BA Foreign Languages and Business Administration.
Graphic design has been my hobby for many years and luckily over the time it has become also my job which I really enjoy. I have been a self learner (reading design related books and of course internet has been my other teacher).

#82 SarahD094

SarahD094

Banned

• Banned
  • 6 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 03:08 PM

I'm currently a college student hoping to study Graphic Design in September at university.

#83 HerbertNordal

HerbertNordal

Junior Guru

• Designer
  • 3433 posts

Posted 07 April 2019 - 12:02 AM

Hey! Did anyone go to RISD? I graduated from there in '91. Good school. What they taught us then is a lot different than the work you see now.

So, The Rhode Island School of Design is possibly the finest Graphc Design School in America.

Their graduates are unlikely to be working crowd source contests.

That parchment will get you through the doors of any agency and/or studio in the country.

I hired some big design schools grads (not RISD) back in the 1980s. Unfortunately, they were not yet teaching any computer courses.

I hired them as pasteup artists, after a year they could get real design jobs because they proved that they could show up and work.

Art graduates did not have a great reputation for taking instruction or work reliability.

Now, i think the big agencies look at interns for future hiring.

(though trained as "architects" they worked hands on as "carpenters."

Talking to a few years later, they said it was good training.

• PrismaCreative likes this

#84 Emanuele_Walter

Emanuele_Walter

• Designer
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 April 2019 - 02:45 AM