• This topic is locked This topic is locked
&nsbp;

#1 NancyCarter

NancyCarter

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 827 posts

Posted 27 May 2008 - 05:20 PM

At risk of diminishing my chances at becoming a Design Team member, I’d like to ask about the criteria of forum contribution or participation.

I am a fairly successful freelancer exploring new avenues to amend my current project load or fill in lulls as they occur. Contests can be fun, especially if inspired, but they are not the most profitable spenditure of time. Spending time (for the sake of spending time) in forums dilutes profitability further.

Reading through posts there is a noticeable redundancy in newbie efforts to ‘contribute’. I mean no disrespect to anyone, it’s just my observation. Everyone is looking for clever ways to get in their ten posts.

While I would love the opportunity to enter contests and be a casual forum participant, I’d rather not misrepresent my dedication to the forum. I don’t want to waste anyone’s time (or my own) pursuing membership if the forum contribution is heavily weighed.

I’m probably shooting myself in the foot here, but I find it odd that free-time is a measure of a designer’s ability or viability as a contestant.

I understand the waiting period. Smart. I also think that DC’s other criteria are warranted and effective in developing a talented team of contest entrants. Pre-qualified designers – a spectacular advantage for the contest holders!!

I look forward to your response.
Blessings,
Nancy

www.NancyCarterDesign.com

#2 rinaldidesigns

rinaldidesigns

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 2258 posts

Posted 01 June 2008 - 10:52 PM

Hi Nancy, the 10 post rule is to weed out those who have nothing to add to the designcontest community, and it gives everyone an idea, on the posters attitude...
believe me, when those

Everyone is looking for clever ways to get in their ten posts.

go to vote,( we vote EVERY design team member in btw), those redundant posters are voted out.