• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 MIHAI1984

MIHAI1984

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 59 posts

Posted 19 September 2005 - 07:06 AM

As i am a new designer i want your opinions on what a good site is.
I mean all starting from colors and ending with navigation.

#2 exo

exo

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 76 posts

Posted 19 September 2005 - 07:10 AM

I wish I could tell you there's a formula for success. That if you use red and blue with 15 point helvetica or something, you'd always have a great site. But the reality is, great sites start with great concepts. They deliver a unique experience or tell a great story. They showcase what a person or company does without stepping over itself. There are a million different ways to make a site good, but they all start with the same thing, a good idea. So always ask yourself what it is you want the site do be about and how you can visually reenforce that idea. How you can push it further and make it more interesting and how as a whole, it delivers on whatever it is that it should deliver on.

#3 MIHAI1984

MIHAI1984

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 59 posts

Posted 19 September 2005 - 07:12 AM

Thanks exo for your opinion.
What i would like to know is what you all consider a good site.

#4 nyxxie

nyxxie

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 309 posts

Posted 19 September 2005 - 07:58 AM

I think a good site, is a site that informs the visitor fast with whatever they came to the website to know. Things that can make them close the window and run: poor navigation, uncontrollable pop-ups, ugly colors, music on launch (without a button somewhere to turn it off), small font, a site not working properly in a browser, a a site that isn't sensitive to dial-up users, a thousand other things. As for colors, maybe colors that evoke a certain emotion that you want the visitor to have are good for a site. A visitor needs to know when a site is professional, personal, fun, or serious. Color has a lot of influence on that.