Our business hours:

Mon — Fri, 2am — 8pm (EST)

US & EU support teams

Where do you study?

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

• Guests

Posted 31 August 2006 - 05:33 PM

It is not just curiosity, I do need to find out how many of our members are studying art or graphic design and where you guys study. Personally I believe that participating in contests (both in the guaranteed and in the community ones) helps to develop your skills as a designer and artist. But I would like to hear from other students. Well maybe there are art professors among us? Their opinions would be appreciated as well!

#2 rinaldidesigns

rinaldidesigns

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 2258 posts

Posted 05 September 2006 - 10:14 PM

I studied both art and graphic design and have toyed with the idea of going back to teach graphic design, at a junior college.....I also would like to go back as a student to learn web design html and all that fun stuff:)
I feel this venue, Design Contest is incredible for all to grow as a designer, more so than what you leave with from college.....

#3 exo

exo

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 76 posts

Posted 06 September 2006 - 08:42 PM

I studied design in SF at the academy, but dropped out to start working during the boom. Lucky for me, because about a year later everything crashed and it would have been almost impossible to get a job as a designer. Since then, I study on the job, every day, doing the best I can to keep rocking. Oddly enough, I sucked at packaging in school, but it's been what I do the most of since I got into the industry.

• Guests

Posted 06 September 2006 - 09:13 PM

Thanks, guys, for the input!
Exo, but what do you think about DC as an instrument of education? Can design students benefit from DC at the moment or do you have any other ideas we could implement to make it more interesting for design students?

#5 nevadabadgirl

nevadabadgirl

Guru

• Designer
  • 4217 posts

Posted 07 September 2006 - 05:18 AM