• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 entz

entz

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 95 posts

Posted 05 December 2007 - 02:25 PM

Hi all graphic artists. While i am a fan of illustrator to create vector graphic, i've just discovered that Adobe InDesign can be as powerful as any other graphic software. I use it to create logos. And i can use muptiple pages to create my proposals in a single file.

Anyone out there uses InDesign as well? if yes, tell me some good and bad things that you've encountered :) so far, i haven't encounter any major problems in creating my artworks.

#2 rinaldidesigns

rinaldidesigns

Elite Designer

• Designer
  • 2258 posts

Posted 05 December 2007 - 02:45 PM

Hi...I recently switched from quark to indesign....I love it:)
I use it for menu design, brochures....anything that requires multiple pages, I use indesign for.
I use illustrator for my logo/illustration work...:)

#3 entz

entz

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 95 posts

Posted 05 December 2007 - 02:54 PM

I see.. i use to use pagemaker.. a "dinosaur" software as well :p Indesign is good for publications, i mean very good. But have you ever tried to create logos/illustrations in indesign? I've tried it, and the tools are kind of similar as illustrator. Except for the effects part.

#4 Chung Dha

Chung Dha

Guru

• Designer
  • 1439 posts

Posted 05 December 2007 - 05:01 PM

Tools are very pretty much the same both can output a eps file. Only very important tools are missing. Outline, livetrace, gradient net and some more. But what is handy in Indesign CS3 there is a color mixer. You can actually get 2 colors and mix them, even pantone colors. That function is missing in Illustrator cs3.

If you want to do a only 2 pantone color print, you can mix the two pantone colors to get more colors.

What is bad in Indesign when you save the logo into eps you can't open in it Indesign to edit it.

#5 TommyGun96

TommyGun96

• Designer
  • 116 posts

Posted 07 February 2008 - 02:18 AM