Restaurant Menu in Ilustrator - Tips please

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 InspireIT

InspireIT

• Designer
  • 191 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 11:51 AM

Hi all, I am a newbie with Illustrator, I used Fireworks for many years to design when Noah was a boy. Since joining here I have slowly used Illustrator to produce only winning design, Saving Fireworks design as Ai format and adjusting/reworking slightly.

I have an outside DC contract for Restaurant menus for one of my website clients I design for, I decided to go straight into Illustrator instead of creating in fireworks and saving as AI then having to slight adjust many elements. Has anyone got any tips on such things as bleeds etc, I have there old menu but only in PDF, I opened PDF in illustrator to give me the size they used, I just need to make sure my bleeds etc are correct and any other tips anyone can share.

My ai file is 300dpi and in CMYK to start, should I be going higher in my DPI?:cool:

Thanks in advance.

#2 Elijah

Elijah

• Designer
  • 200 posts

Posted 09 January 2013 - 01:17 PM

Im guessing your using images in the menu, so 300dpi is more then enough. Considering your not using thumbnail size images :D
I dont use AI so there i cant realy help sorry....but this might :D
Publishing a Multiple Paged PDF Document Using Illustrator | Vectortuts+

#3 InspireIT

InspireIT

• Designer
  • 191 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:12 AM

Thanks Elijah, I think I have most of the knowledge already reading that tutorial, some good pointers in it though so it was good, client is happy so far :),
I have high res images yes (lots of deep etching still to do), it's a good point, many people forget about that kind of thing.

Thanks a lot

#4 HappyGD

HappyGD

• Designer
  • 2731 posts

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:25 AM

You also have the option to link the images, similar to InDesign, if you want to keep the file size to a minimum. The Links pallet is found under the Window menu

#5 JonG303

JonG303