Our business hours:

Mon — Fri, 2am — 8pm (EST)

US & EU support teams

Phone support: Closed

We are back in: 1h 20m

Our business hours:

Mon — Fri, 2am — 8pm (EST)

US & EU support teams

How do I get a transparent background in my Illustrator file?

text-transform command

• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 Guest_mevector_*

Guest_mevector_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 August 2012 - 06:09 AM

I'm relatively new to Illustrator, (I'm working in CS4) and created a corporate logo for one of my clients. When I place the logo into Photoshop or InDesign, the logo is in a white box. How can I make the background transparent in the original Illustrator file?

#2 OGroup

OGroup

• Designer
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 August 2012 - 07:27 PM

You need just to copy (from illustrator) and paste (in photoshop) your logo, paste it like a "smarth object", if in your selection (before the COPY in illustrator) you have a white box selected to background you will get it in photoshop too.
I hope it can hel you!

#3 SIHEM

SIHEM

• Designer
  • 55 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:19 PM

Yes, you can't directly import or open the illustrator logo into photoshop. You have to use copy paste option only.

#4 es2thekay

es2thekay

• Designer
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:23 PM

export to png

#5 EcoDesigns

EcoDesigns

• Designer
  • 278 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 04:16 PM

Select logo in Illustrator and directly paste in photoshop file...it will show you options...choose pixels. The other thing you can do is save for web option under file in illustrator and choose gif or png format which has transparent background. Then open these formats on photoshop.

#6 OGroup

OGroup

• Designer
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 06:37 PM

it's right.. but if you paste as "smarth object" you can modify it easily ... you can convert it as raster after all modification :)

#7 Squewheet

Squewheet

Junior Guru

• Designer
  • 328 posts

Posted 15 September 2012 - 09:58 PM