&nsbp;

#1 mkorayt

mkorayt

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 October 2006 - 11:38 AM

Hi ,
I am designing a personal webpage about photo-trekking in Anatolia(http://www.anadoluge...om/seyahatname/ ) website name translation is "anatolian explorer"
I am not a proffessional designer.I used some open source php applications and modified them.Most of the photos are mine but i let users to post their own photos.

I know something wrong with the website,it disturbs me.And is not user friendly.Web site is not available in English for now.But if you can check the desing and give some advice i'll be happy.Ofcourse you can look at the photos.Just login using username "designcontest" and pass "designcontest" .Photo gallery is multilingual;just scroll down and choose the flag.

Main Buttons :
Anasayfa : Mainpage
Seyahaname : Diary
Fotogezi : Photogallery
Forum : Forum

Some known issues are :
Logo compressed too much,poor quality and grains
Dark background and grey text hard to read for uncallibrated monitors
Index page is temporary page to give some advices it's not a design

So looking to hear from you...i can start it over from the beginning and design everything again.Just need some advice.

Logo is designed by me.

Thanks for your help.

website : www.anadolugezgini.com "temporary index;click logo to continue"
http://www.anadoluge...om/seyahatname/ just go there to check out the design.

#2 _Redrum

_Redrum

Retired Admin

• Designer
  • 1957 posts

Posted 17 October 2006 - 11:48 PM

There may be other things wrong with the site but here is what I see:

1. Nothing strikes you when you enter the site other than the logo, which is very illustrative and not very "human friendly".
Solution: Maybe adding an image or two, perhaps one (or more) of the images you have on the website (with permission of the photographer of course). You could also consider featuring a few images somewhere.

2. As you said, everything is dark, and not very inspiring.